display | more...
The Caldecott Medal is an award that is awarded annually to the illustrator of the most distinguished American picture book for children. The Caldecott Medal has been given for the years 1938-2000. Past winners are:

2001 So You Want to Be President?, illustrated by David Small
2000 Joseph Had a Little Overcoat, illustrated by Simms Taback
1999 Snowflake Bentley, illustrated by Mary Azarian
1998 Rapunzel by Paul O. Zelinsky
1997 Golem by David Wisniewski
1996 Officer Buckle and Gloria by Peggy Rathmann
1995 Smoky Night by David Diaz (text by Eve Bunting)
1994 Grandfather's Journey by Allen Say
1993 Mirette on the High Wire by Emily McCully
1992 Tuesday by David Wiesner
1991 Black & White by David Macaulay
1990 Lon Po Po by Ed Young (translator)
1989 Song & Dance Man by Stephen Gammell (text by Karen Ackerman)
1988 Owl Moon by John Schoenherr (text by Jane Yolen)
1987 Hey, Al by Richard Egielski (text by Arthur Yorinks)
1986 Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg
1985 Saint George and the Dragon by Margaret Hodges, Trina S. Hyman
1984 The Glorious Flight : Across the Channel With Louis Bleriot, July 25, 1909 by Alice Provensen Martin Provensen
1983 Shadow by Blaise Cendrars, Marcia Brown
1982 Jumanji by Chris Van Allsburg
1981 Fables by Arnold Lobel
1980 Ox Cart Man by Barbara Cooney (text by Donald Hall)
1979 The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses by Paul Goble
1978 Noah's Ark by Peter Spier
1977 Ashanti to Zulu : African Traditions by Leo Dillon, Diane Dillon (Illustrator), Margaret W. Musgrove
1976 Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears: A West African Tale by Verna Aardema, Leo Dillon, Diane Dillon (Illustrator)
1975 Arrow to the Sun : A Pueblo Indian Tale by Gerald McDermott
1974 Duffy and the Devil by Harve Zemach
1973 The Funny Little Woman (Picture Puffins) by Arlene Mosel, Blair Lent (Illustrator)
1972 One Fine Day. by Nonny Hogrogian
1971 A Story, a Story : An African Tale by Gail E. Haley
1970 Sylvester and the Magic Pebble by William Steig
1969 The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship by Arthur Ransome
1968 Drummer Hoff by Barbara Emberley
1967 Sam, Bangs, and Moonshine by Evaline Ness
1966 Always Room for One More by Sorche Leodhas, Nonny Hogrogian
1965 May I Bring a Friend? by Beatrice Schenk De Regniers
1964 Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak
1963 Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats
1962 Once a Mouse by Marcia Brown
1961 Baboushka and the Three Kings by Ruth Robbins
1960 Nine Days to Christmas by Marie Hall Ets, Aurora Labastida
1959 Chanticleer and the Fox by Geoffrey Chaucer, Barbara Cooney
1958 Time of Wonder by Robert McCloskey
1957 Tree Is Nice by Janice May Udry, Marc Simont (Illustrator)
1956 Frog Went A-Courtin' by John Langstaff, Feodor Rojankovsky (Illustrator)
1955 Cinderella by Charles Perrault, Marcia Brown (Illustrator)
1954 Madeline's Rescue by Ludwig Bemelmans
1953 The Biggest Bear by Lynd Kendall Ward
1952 Finders Keepers by William Lipkind, Nicolas Mordvinoff, Nicolas Will
1951 Egg Tree by Katherine Milhous
1950 Song of the Swallows by Leo Politi
1949 The Big Snow by Berta Hader, Elmer Hader
1948 White Snow, Bright Snow by Alvin Tresselt, Roger Duvoisin (Illustrator)
1947 The Little Island by Golden MacDonald, Leonard Weisgard (Illustrator)
1946 Rooster Crows by Miska Petersham, Maud Petersham
1945 Prayer for a Child by Rachel L. Field, Elizabeth Orton Jones
1944 Many Moons by James Thurber, Louis Slobodkin (Illustrator)
1943 The Little House by Virginia Lee Burton
1942 Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey
1941 They Were Strong and Good by Robert Lawson
1940 Abraham Lincoln by Ingri D'Aulaire, Edgar Parin D'Aulaire
1939 Mei Li by Thomas Handforth
1938 Animals of the Bible by Dorothy P. Lathrop, Helen D. Fish (Editor)

More Literary Awards

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.