display | more...

Individual award given to the MVP of the NHL Stanley Cup playoffs since 1965. The winner is selected at the conclusion of the playoffs by the Professional Hockey Writers Association and is presented to the player before the Stanley Cup is given to the winning team.

The award is named after Conn Smythe (obviously). Smythe was a coach and executive for the Toronto Maple Leafs.

In 1994, Brian Leetch became the first American to win the award, while in 2002 Nicklas Lidstrom became the first European player to win it.

In 2001, Patrick Roy became the first 3-time winner.

Below's a list of the Conn Smythe Trophy winners:

season  player                 team
2019    Ryan O'Reilly          St. Louis Blues
2018    Alexander Ovechkin     Washington Capitals
2017    Sidney Crosby          Pittsburgh Penguins
2016    Sidney Crosby          Pittsburgh Penguins
2015    Duncan Keith           Chicago Blackhawks
2014    Justin Williams        Los Angeles Kings
2013    Patrick Kane           Chicago Blackhawks
2012    Jonathan Quick         Los Angeles Kings
2011    Tim Thomas             Boston Bruins
2010    Jonathan Toews         Chicago Blackhawks
2009    Evgeni Malkin          Pittsburgh Penguins
2008    Henrik Zetterberg      Detroit Red Wings
2007    Scott Niedermayer      Anaheim Ducks
2006    Cam Ward               Carolina Hurricanes
2005    N/A
2004    Brad Richards          Tampa Bay Lightning
2003    Jean-Sebastien Giguere Anaheim Ducks
2002    Nicklas Lidstrom       Detroit Red Wings
2001    Patrick Roy            Colorado Avalanche
2000    Scott Stevens          New Jersey Devils 
1999    Joe Nieuwendyk         Dallas Stars 
1998    Steve Yzerman          Detroit Red Wings 
1997    Mike Vernon            Detroit Red Wings 
1996    Joe Sakic              Colorado Avalanche 
1995    Claude Lemieux         New Jersey Devils 
1994    Brian Leetch           New York Rangers 
1993    Patrick Roy            Montreal Canadiens 
1992    Mario Lemieux          Pittsburgh Penguins 
1991    Mario Lemieux          Pittsburgh Penguins 
1990    Bill Ranford           Edmonton Oilers 
1989    Al MacInnis            Calgary Flames 
1988    Wayne Gretzky          Edmonton Oilers 
1987    Ron Hextall            Philadelphia Flyers 
1986    Patrick Roy            Montreal Canadiens 
1985    Wayne Gretzky          Edmonton Oilers 
1984    Mark Messier           Edmonton Oilers 
1983    Billy Smith            New York Islanders 
1982    Mike Bossy             New York Islanders 
1981    Butch Goring           New York Islanders 
1980    Brian Trottier         New York Islanders 
1979    Bob Gainey             Montreal Canadiens 
1978    Larry Robinson         Montreal Canadiens 
1977    Guy Lafleur            Montreal Canadiens 
1976    Reggie Leach           Philadelphia Flyers 
1975    Bernie Parent          Philadelphia Flyers 
1974    Bernie Parent          Philadelphia Flyers 
1973    Yvan Cournoyer         Montreal Canadiens 
1972    Bobby Orr              Boston Bruins 
1971    Ken Dryden             Montreal Canadiens 
1970    Bobby Orr              Boston Bruins 
1969    Serge Savard           Montreal Canadiens 
1968    Glenn Hall             St. Louis Blues 
1967    Dave Keon              Toronto Maple Leafs 
1966    Roger Crozier          Detroit Red Wings 
1965    Jean Beliveau          Montreal Canadiens 

Note: Giguere (2003), Hextall (1987), Leach (1976), Hall (1968), and Crozier (1966) are the only players to have won the Conn Smythe whose team did not win the Stanley Cup that season.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.