display | more...

The Geoffrey Faber Memorial prize was established in 1963 in commemoration of Geoffrey Faber, the founder and first chairman of the publishing company Faber and Faber. It is awarded in respect of "that volume of verse or prose fiction first published originally in this country during the two years preceding the year in which the award is given which is, in the opinion of the judges, of the greatest literary merit." Eligible writers are those under forty years of age who are also citizens of the United Kingdom and its colonies, the Commonwealth, or the Republics of Ireland and South Africa.

The value of the prize is £1000, with the award being made to a poet and an author of prose fiction in alternate years.

Past Winners



Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.