display | more...
Award given annually to the top player in American college hockey. It's the hockey equivalent of the Heisman Trophy.

Like the Heisman, winning the award often does not translate into success in the professional ranks. Paul Kariya (1993) is the most noteworthy winner.

The award, which started in 1981, is named after Princeton hockey player Hobey Baker, who died at the age of 26 while testing an airplane at the end of World War I.

Below's a list of the winners:

Year Recipient         School

2004 Junior Lessard   University of Minnesota-Duluth
2003 Peter Sejna      Colorado College
2002 Jordan Leopold   University of Minnesota
2001 Ryan Miller      Michigan State University 
2000 Mike Mottau      Boston College
1999 Jason Krog       University of New Hampshire 
1998 Chris Drury      Boston University 
1997 Brendan Morrison University of Michigan 
1996 Brian Bonin      University of Minnesota 
1995 Brian Holzinger  Bowling Green State University 
1994 Chris Marinucci  University of Minnesota-Duluth 
1993 Paul Kariya      University of Maine 
1992 Scott Pellerin   University of Maine 
1991 David Emma       Boston College 
1990 Kip Miller       Michigan State University 
1989 Lane MacDonald   Harvard University 
1988 Robb Stauber     University of Minnesota 
1987 Tony Hrkac       University of North Dakota 
1986 Scott Fusco      Harvard University 
1985 Bill Watson      University of Minnesota-Duluth 
1984 Tom Kurvers      University of Minnesota-Duluth 
1983 Mark Fusco       Harvard University 
1982 George McPhee    Bowling Green State University 
1981 Neal Broten      University of Minnesota 

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.