display | more...
The International Olympic Committee (IOC) was founded in 1894 by Pierre de Coubertin to try to revive the ancient Greek Olympics. It is based in Lausanne, Switzerland.

From the IOC website:

The IOC is an international non-governmental non-profit organization and the creator of the Olympic Movement. The IOC exists to serve as an umbrella organization of the Olympic Movement. It owns all rights to the Olympic symbols, flag, motto, anthem and Olympic Games. Its primary responsibility is to supervise the organization of the summer and winter Olympic Games.

Below is a chronological listing of the IOC's presidents and their nationalities:

Dates      President                       Country
1894-1896  Demetrius Vikélas               Greece
1896-1925  Pierre de Coubertin             France
1925-1942  Henri de Baillet-Latour         Belgium
1946-1952  J. Sigfrid Edström              Sweden
1952-1972  Avery Brundage                  United States
1972-1980  Lord Killanin (Michael Morris)  Ireland
1980-2001  Juan Antonio Samaranch          Spain
2001-      Jacques Rogge                   Belgium

If an editor thinks this should go in the nodeshell International Olympic Committee instead, /msg me and I'll move it. Thanks.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.