One of the London boroughs, covering the areas of North, South and West Kensington, Bayswater, Ladbroke Grove, Holland Park, Notting Hill, West Brompton and Chelsea.
Kensington and Chelsea first originated as Saxon settlements: both are mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086. Royalty first moved into the area in 1689 when William III moved into Kensington Palace. Queen Victoria was born in Kensington Palace in 1819 and continued to reside there until her accession to the throne in 1837. With Queen Victoria's wishes, the title "Royal Borough" was given to Kensington in 1901, after her death. The two boroughs were united in 1965 to form the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.