One of the sixteen Länder (federal states) of Germany; German name Niedersachsen.

Population: 7,800,000
Area: 47,300 sq. km.
Capital: Hannover, pop. 520,000
Political division: Nine cities, 38 Kreise (districts)

Named for its physical height rather than geographical location, Lower Saxony, in the north-west of the country, is a sparsely populated region. Two-thirds of it is farmland and much of it is below sea level, although it becomes hillier and more wooded towards the south-east. The East Frisian islands of the North Sea also constitute a part of this Bundesland.

Places of interest include the historical cities of Hannover and Braunschweig, and a number of smaller picturesque towns, such as Hildesheim, Lüneburg, and the university town of Göttingen. The Frisian islands also attract a lot of tourists.

The city of Bremen is encircled by the territory of Lower Saxony, but is an autonomous city state with no official ties to the Land.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.