display | more...
The championship game of Major League Soccer (MLS). The game is played at previously determined sites, so it usually ends up occurring at a neutral site (unless the host team that year ends up advancing to the final (as DC United did in 1997).

MLS Cup has been televised on ABC. It is not to be confused with the US Open Cup, which is also open to teams outside the MLS (and is decades older than MLS). For those familiar with English football, winning the MLS Cup is the equivalent of winning the Premiership, while winning the US Open Cup is similar to winning the FA Cup.

Below's a listing of MLS Cup results, since the beginning of the league in 1996. Both the 1996 and 2001 games were decided on golden goals in overtime.

Year  Score                                          MLS Cup MVP (team)     Host team
2001  San Jose Earthquakes 2, Los Angeles Galaxy 1   Dwayne DeRosario (SJ)  Columbus Crew
2000  Kansas City Wizards 1, Chicago Fire 0          Tony Meola (KC)        DC United
1999  DC United 2, Los Angeles Galaxy 0              Ben Olsen (DC)         New England Revolution
1998  Chicago Fire 2, DC United 0                    Peter Nowak (Chi.)     Los Angeles Galaxy
1997  DC United 2, Colorado Rapids 1                 Jaime Moreno (DC)      DC United
1996  DC United 3, Los Angeles Galaxy 2              Marco Etcheverry (DC)  New England Revolution

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.