History Of The Award

In 1940, the Chicago chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) began presenting an informal award to the best rookie in the major leagues. The BBWAA took over the award in 1947, and in 1949, they split the award, giving one to a rookie from both the National and the American Leagues.

The National League Rookie of the Year Award has been somewhat better than its American League counterpart at picking out future stars: 8 Hall of Famers have won this award (with Jeff Bagwell, Rick Sutcliffe, and others all waiting in the wings - plus the legendary Pete Rose, whose exclusion from the Hall has little to do with his on the field excellence). Like the American League, there has been only one tie for the award, in 1976, between Butch Metzger of the Padres and Pat Zachry of the Reds.

One interesting note is that the Los Angeles Dodgers produced 4 consecutive Rookies of the Year from 1979-1982, only to top this feat with 5 consecutive Rookies of the Year from 1992-1996. They also hold the team record for most Rookies of the Year with 16 (4 as the Brooklyn Dodgers.)


Here are the winners of the National League Rookie of the Year Award, in reverse chronological order:

2020Devin WilliamsMilwaukee Brewers
2019Pete AlonsoNew York Mets
2018Ronald Acuña Jr.Atlanta Braves
2017Cody BellingerLos Angeles Dodgers
2016Corey SeagerLos Angeles Dodgers
2015Kris BryantChicago Cubs
2014Jacob deGromNew York Mets
2013Jose FernandezMiami Marlins
2012Bryce HarperWashington Nationals
2011Craig KimbrelAtlanta Braves
2010Buster PoseySan Francisco Giants
2009Chris CoglanFlorida Marlins
2008Geovany SotoChicago Cubs
2007Ryan BraunMilwaukee Brewers
2006Hanley RamirezFlorida Marlins
2005Ryan HowardPhiladelphia Phillies
2004Jason BayPittsburgh Pirates
2003Dontrelle WillisFlorida Marlins
2002Jason JenningsColorado Rockies
2001Albert PujolsSt. Louis Cardinals
2000Rafael FurcalAtlanta Braves
1999Scott WilliamsonCincinnati Reds
1998Kerry WoodChicago Cubs
1997Scott RolenPhiladelphia Phillies
1996Todd HollandsworthLos Angeles Dodgers
1995Hideo NomoLos Angeles Dodgers
1994Raul MondesiLos Angeles Dodgers
1993Mike PiazzaLos Angeles Dodgers
1992Eric KarrosLos Angeles Dodgers
1991Jeff BagwellHouston Astros
1990David JusticeAtlanta Braves
1989Jerome WaltonChicago Cubs
1988Chris SaboCincinnati Reds
1987Benito SantiagoSan Diego Padres
1986Todd WorrellSt. Louis Cardinals
1985Vince ColemanSt. Louis Cardinals
1984Dwight GoodenNew York Mets
1983Darryl StrawberryNew York Mets
1982Steve SaxLos Angeles Dodgers
1981Fernando ValenzuelaLos Angeles Dodgers
1980Steve HoweLos Angeles Dodgers
1979Rick SutcliffeLos Angeles Dodgers
1978Bob HornerAtlanta Braves
1977Andre DawsonMontreal Expos
1976Butch Metzger
Pat Zachry (tie)
San Diego Padres
Cincinnati Reds
1975John MontefuscoSan Francisco Giants
1974Bake McBrideSt. Louis Cardinals
1973Gary MatthewsSan Francisco Giants
1972Jon MatlackNew York Mets
1971Earl WilliamsAtlanta Braves
1970Carl MortonMontreal Expos
1969Ted SizemoreLos Angeles Dodgers
1968Johnny BenchCincinnati Reds
1967Tom SeaverNew York Mets
1966Tommy HelmsCincinnati Reds
1965Jim LefebvreLos Angeles Dodgers
1964Richie AllenPhiladelphia Phillies
1963Pete RoseCincinnati Reds
1962Ken HubbsChicago Cubs
1961Billy WilliamsChicago Cubs
1960Frank HowardLos Angeles Dodgers
1959Willie McCoveySan Francisco Giants
1958Orlando CepedaSan Francisco Giants
1957Jack SanfordPhiladelphia Phillies
1956Frank RobinsonCincinnati Reds
1955Bill VirdonSt. Louis Cardinals
1954Wally MoonSt. Louis Cardinals
1953Jim GilliamBrooklyn Dodgers
1952Joe BlackBrooklyn Dodgers
1951Willie MaysNew York Giants
1950Sam JethroeBoston Braves
1949Don NewcombeBrooklyn Dodgers

Coincidentally, the first two winners of the Rookie Of The Year award (before the award was split into both leagues) were both National League players. They are:

1948Alvin DarkBoston Braves
1947Jackie RobinsonBrooklyn Dodgers

Bold denotes Hall of Famer.

Source: Major League Baseball - http://www.mlb.com/

See Also:

American League Awards:

National League Awards:

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.