One of Australia's 2 territories, as opposed to its 6 states
(The other is the Australian Capital Territory).
Known in Australia as "The Territory" or "The Top End", its capital city is Darwin, with Alice Springs being the only other sizable city.
Uluru (Uluru, formerly known as Ayers Rock) is its most famous landmark, Kata Tjuta (Kata Tjuta, formerly known as The Olgas) is nearby, and Kakadu National Park is one of the most beautiful in the country.

Abbreviation: NT
Capital city: Darwin
Borders: Western Australia; South Australia; Queensland
License plate motto: Outback Australia; Explorers Territory; Barra Country
Nickname of inhabitants: Territorians

The official web site is at

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.