The Norwegian alphabet has 29 letters, which is three more than the English alphabet. These three letters are æ, ø and å, written Æ, Ø and Å in capital. They are all vowels, and their approximate pronounciation are as follows:

  • Æ as the A in the English words "crash" or "stab".
  • Ø as the U in the English word "surf".
  • Å as the O in the English word "bored".
The sequence of the Norwegian alphabet is very similar to the English one, with these three letters simply added to the tail:

a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z æ ø å

Æ, ø and å are also used in Danish, and are interchangeable with the Swedish letters ä, ö and å (the sequence of these three letters are different in the Swedish alphabet, though). Ä and Ö were as far as I know used instead of Æ and Ø in Norway at some time in history.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.