display | more...


Ôsaka Shiei Chikatetsu—a wonderful subway network in the Japanese tradition: no graffiti, no pickpockets. No musicians, either, which can leave it feeling kind of vanilla. The only real danger is meeting a chikan.

Anyway, it's based around eight lines.

North-south lines:

Midosuji Line (Senri-Chuo - Esaka - Shin-Osaka - Umeda - Hommachi - Shinsaibashi - Namba - Tennoji - Abiko - Nakamozu). The Senri-Esaka portion is operated by the Kita Osaka Kyuko Railway.

Yotsubashi Line (Nishi-Umeda - Hommachi - Namba - Suminoe-Koen).

Sakaisuji Line (Tenjimbashisujirokuchome - Minamimorimachi - Nippombashi - Tengachaya). Its north end turns into the Hankyu Railway: during rush hour, some trains go straight from the Sakaisuji line to Kawaramachi in Kyoto. The other end connects to the Nankai Railway.

Tanimachi Line (Dainichi - Tenjimbashisujirokuchome - Temmabashi - Tennoji - Yao-Minami).

East-west lines:
Chuo Line (Osakako - Hommachi - Morinomiya - Nagata). Turns into the Kintetsu Nara Line after Nagata.

Nagahori Tsurumi Ryokuchi Line (Taisho - Shinsaibashi - Morinomiya - Kyobashi - Kadoma-Minami). The newest addition to the system. It uses overhead wires instead of a third rail.

Sennichimae Line (Noda-Hanshin - Namba - Nippombashi - Tsuruhashi - Minami-Tsubasa).

The other line is the Nanko Port Town Line or "New Tram," which runs between Suminoe-Koen and Osakako. It makes the Yotsubashi and Chuo lines effectively look like a single, very long, very circuitous route on a subway map, but in reality the three lines are completely separate.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.