display | more...
The Philippine National Anthem was composed by Julian Felipe, and was first performed on June 12, 1898, in conjunction with the declaration of Philippine independence. It was then called "Marcha Nacional Filipina".

The original lyrics was written in Spanish by Jose Palma a year later, and the song was renamed Filipinas. In the 1920's the American government commissioned an English translation. A Filipino, Camilo Osias, and an American, A.L. Lane, translated the song, and the translation was called The Philippine Hymn. This version became the offical anthem in 1934. Finally, in 1956, the Filipino version became the official Philippine National Anthem. This version, titled Lupang Hinirang was translated by Julian Cruz Balmaceda and Ildefonso Santos.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.