An alternative pop band, or more accurately a series of bands, mostly centred around Kim Deal. The band most of us know as The Breeders was put together as a collaboration between Kim and Tanya Donelley to go let loose and step out of the shadows of their respective bands (the world-conquering Pixies and Throwing Muses). The "Breeders" name, however, dates back to before The Pixies, and was used by Kim and Kelley Deal playing at truckstops in their hometown (Dayton, Ohio).

The first album, Pod was recorded in Edinburgh and released on 4AD in 1990, produced by Steve Albini. Lo-fi sounds and bizarre, irregular song structures are the order of the day. Band lineup:

Track list:

  1. Glorious
  2. Doe
  3. Happiness is a Warm Gun
  4. Oh!
  5. Hellbound
  6. When I Was a Painter
  7. Fortunately Gone
  8. Iris
  9. Opened
  10. Only in 3's
  11. Lime House
  12. Metal Man

The second album, 1993's Last Splash sounded a lot more like conventional indie-pop in places, particularly the hit Cannonball, though it did have its more exotic highlights (Roi). By this point, Tanya had left the band, replaced by Kelley Deal, and Brit Walford replaced by Jim MacPherson. Track list is:

  1. New Year
  2. Cannonball
  3. Invisible Man
  4. No Aloha
  5. Roi
  6. Do You Love Me Now?
  7. Flipside
  8. I Just Wanna Get Along
  9. Mad Lucas
  10. Divine Hammer
  11. S.O.S.
  12. Hag
  13. Saints
  14. Drivin' On
  15. Roi (Reprise)

A new Breeders album is in the pipeline, featuring essentially the same band lineup that constituted The Amps. Goody Goody Gumdrops!

Gaps filled in thanks to

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.