display | more...
1st book of The Wheel of Time.

The Eye of the World, or tEotW or even EoW for artically challenged resembles very strongly The Lord of the Rings in many aspects. The story consists of dumb hillbillies who wise and mysterious (and beautiful, in this case) mage (or Aes Sedai, in this case) grabs along for some obscure reasons, drags through halfway the world. During this, they see the world, become wise and mature members of society.

The difference is, Robert Jordan didn't stop here. He meant to write only one book (this one, obviously) originally, they say, but because of the positive response by readers he decided to go for 3 books, and then 6 books, and now we're going at 9 and atleast 4 more are to be expected. It is not known if this is urban legend, however, the first 3 books have very strong sense of trilogy and only last few pages of 3rd book turn things around so that story can go on for many books more to come.

EoW is considered by some to be the best book in series (those people are fans of adventure fantasy), by some the worst (those people are more into political fantasy).

Chapter list:

  • Prologue: Dragonmount
  • 1. An Empty Road
  • 2. Stangers
  • 3. The Peddler
  • 4. The Gleeman
  • 5. Winternight
  • 6. The Westwood
  • 7. Out of the Woods
  • 8. A Place of Safety
  • 9. Tellings of the Wheel
  • 10. Leavetaking
  • 11. The Road to Taren Ferry
  • 12. Across the Taren
  • 13. Choices
  • 14. The Stag and Lion
  • 15. Strangers and Friends
  • 16. The Wisdom
  • 17. Watchers and Hunters
  • 18. The Caemlyn Road
  • 19. Shadow's Waiting
  • 20. Dust on the Wind
  • 21. Listen to the Wind
  • 22. A Path Chosen
  • 23. Wolfbrother
  • 24. Flight Down the Arinelle
  • 25. The Traveling People
  • 26. Whitebridge
  • 27. Shelter From the Storm
  • 28. Footprints in Air
  • 29. Eyes Without Pity
  • 30. Children of Shadow
  • 31. Play for Your Supper
  • 32. Four Kings in Shadow
  • 33. The Dark Waits
  • 34. The Last Village
  • 35. Caemlyn
  • 36. Web of the Pattern
  • 37. The Long Chase
  • 38. Rescue
  • 39. Weaving of the Web
  • 40. The Web Tightens
  • 41. Old Friends and New Threats
  • 42. Remembrance of Dreams
  • 43. Decisions and Apparitions
  • 44. The Dark Along the Ways
  • 45. What Follows in Shadow
  • 46. Fal Dara
  • 47. More Tales of the Wheel
  • 48. The Blight
  • 49. The Dark One Stirs
  • 50. Meetings at the Eye
  • 51. Against the Shadow
  • 52. There Is Neither Beginning Nor End
  • 53. The Wheel Turns

... or, an ultra-condensed version by David J. Parker and Samuel Stoddard:

Rand al'Thor
Tam is my father.
(Nothing happens. Then, nothing happens. Then, unexpectedly, nothing happens. Everything is FRAUGHT with PORTENT.)

Everybody come with me.
No. Well, ok.
(They travel a LOT. Something happens that isn't explained. Something happens that doesn't make sense. Something happens.)

Rand al'Thor
Tam is my father.

THE (predictable, cliched, dumb) END

Yah! Wah hah! This is the greatest book ever! Whoo hoo! This is the greatest series ever! Whoopie! Yee haw!
The Eye of the World is an object in the Wheel of Time series as well.

It is a pool of saidin untainted by the Dark One. Rand al'Thor uses it up at the end of the book by defeating a large army of trollocs with the One Power, revealing himself to be the Dragon Reborn.

Inside the Eye of the World are found the Horn of Valere and the banner of the Dragon.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.