Formed when the Cape of Good Hope, Natal, the Orange Free State and Transvaal were joined together after the United Kingdom turned over power to the British settlers and Boers by passing the South Africa act. It was declared to have Dominion status on 31 May 1910. 51 years later on 31 May 1961, it became the Republic of South Africa, under the power of the National Party.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.