display | more...
UCLA was founded in 1919, as the "southern branch of the University of California". However, its beginnings date from almost thirty years earlier in the March of 1881, when the State Assembly of California, approved the establishment of a second State Normal School(*). Funding for the site was achieved by contributions from over 200 "enthusiastic citizens". On August 29, 1882, it opened its doors to its first students.

Having moved to Vermont Avenue in 1914, its Director Ernest Carroll Moore moved in 1917, that the school ought to become the first branch of the University of California, then based at Berkeley. The subsequent legislation of May 23, 1919, transformed UCLA from a teacher's college two a true institution of learning, offering two-year courses of intruction in Law and the Sciences.

UCLA's first class of 300 students graduated in 1925, and the then site's capacity was gradually being exhausted. Eventually the University moved to its new home at Westwood, and began to offer Master's Degrees in 1933, and three years later, in 1936, Doctorates.

Today the University, only 80 years old, occupies some 163 buildings over some 4198 acres, and has a student body of more than 36,500 students. The current Chancellor is Albert Carnesale, who assumed his post on July 1, 1997.

(*) The first being in San José -- some 300 miles to the north.

Grateful acknowledgment is given to UCLA,

UCLA is perhaps most famous for its men's basketball team, which dominated the sport in the '60s and early '70s like no other team has, perhaps in ANY sport, before or since.

The Bruins, coached by John Wooden, won 10 national championships in 12 seasons from 1964-1975, including seven straight from 1967-1973. From 1971-1974, UCLA won an amazing 88 straight games. Key players during that period included Lew Alcindor (who later changed his name to Kareem Abdul-Jabbar) and Bill Walton.

UCLA also won the national championship in 1995.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.