display | more...

The World Jiu-Jitsu Championship, also known as the Mundials is the most prestigious Brazillian Jiu-Jitsu competition in the world and is hosted annually by the International Brazillian Jiu-Jitsu Federation. The first ever World Championship was held in 1996 from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Starting in 2007, the Mundials have been held outside of Brazil, with the event hosted at California State University in Long Beach, California both 2007 and 2008. Last year, the event was held at Riverside Convention Center in Rochester, New York. This year's event is scheduled for June 4-6th in Long Beach, CA.

There are close to 2,000 competitors in this tournament including both male and female athletes. The Mundials are broken into ten different weight divisions ranging from 126.5 lbs (57 kg) to over 221 lbs (100,5 kg). The divisions are as follows:

  • Absolute (Open Weight): This Division is open to all competitors without any weight restrictions.
  • Ultra Heavyweight: over 221.0 lbs (+100,5 kg)
  • Super Heavyweight: under 221.0 lbs (-100,5 kg)
  • Heavyweight: under 207.5 lbs (-94,3 kg)
  • Medium Heavyweight: under 194.5 lbs (-88,3 kg)
  • Middleweight: under 181.0 lbs (-82,3 kg)
  • Lightweight: under 167.5 lbs (-76 kg)
  • Featherweight: under 154.0 lbs (-70 kg)
  • Light Featherweight: under 141.0 lbs (-64 kg)
  • Roosterweight: under 126.5 lbs (-57 kg)

A few of the more popular Mundials Champions are:

BJ Penn: Featherweight Champion in 2000
Saulo Ribeiro: Six-Time World Champion: 1997 (Middleweight), 1998 (Heavyweight), 1999 (Medium-heavyweight), 2000 (Super-heavyweight), 2002 (Medium-heavyweight), 2008 No-gi (Medium-heavyweight).
Roger Gracie: 2007 & 2009 Absolute Champion. 2004, 2005, 2006,2007, and 2009 Super Heavyweight Champion. 2008 Super Super Heavyweight Division Champion.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.