There are more dairy
products hiding out there than you think. Sure, buttermilk
, cottage cheese
, and sour cream
are fairly obvious examples. It's probably easy to figure out that half and half
are dairy too. But while attempting to determine what allergies
I might have, I wasn't allowed to have any dairy products - and found them in a lot more places than I had expected. Vegan
s, the severely lactose-intolerant
, and those with a true milk allergy
should read all labels carefully while shopping
Anything marked casein is a dairy product. This includes calcium caseinate and other caseinates. Ghee, a clarified butter used in preparing most Indian food, still contains the dairy elements. Whey is also a dairy product - a hydrolysate to be exact - even if it has been delactosed. Many people are lactose-intolerant, but anything beginning with lacto- is going to be a derivative of dairy: lactulose, lactalbumin, lactoglobulin. (It should be noted that while some lactic acid is a fermentation of milk sugars, most of the lactic acid added to foods is from other sources.) Rennet is a cheese product. Dried milk solids, condensed milk, and anything else with the word milk - you guessed it - is a dairy product.
These will turn up in the most unlikely of places. I took to shopping at my local Fresh Fields, a grocery store with a lot of organic, health-conscious, and vegetarian items. In with the frozen foods, I found "soy cheese pizza" - it didn't say dairy-free, but I figured soy cheese would be okay, right? Wrong. Calcium caseinate is often used to give texture to cheese made from soy. Non-dairy creamer and some whipped toppings (including Cool Whip) may also contain traces of milk products. Some birth-control pills contain lactose, as do some prescription and over-the-counter drugs.