display | more...
OK, here's the list of the 15 member republics of the USSR proper. Where Pseudo_Intellectual has it slightly wrong is with Chechnya, Dagestan, and Nagorno-Karabakh. The first two are members of the Russian Federation, which itself is a collection of member republics. Nagorno-Karabakh is a territory under dispute between Armenia and Azerbaijan.

All fifteen of these republics became independent countries once the USSR collapsed. The troubles in Chechnya are a case of a member republic of Russia wishing to become independent itself.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.