display | more...
Megadeth's fifth album Countdown To Extinction was their breakthrough album with the general public. It was softer and less aggressive when compared to 1990's Rust In Peace, but fortunately the aggression was not completely gone. The album even included a modest hit in the form of Symphony Of Destruction, and the only song I know about skydiving (High Speed Dirt).
Lyrically, the album is also less aggressive then its predecessors. Some people say Dave Mustaine grew a concience, since the album includes songs about the environment (Countdown to Extinction) and the negative sides of war (Symphony Of Destruction, Architecture Of Aggression). Well, maybe Dave has, but that doesn't make the album less good.

Countdown To Extinction was produced by Dave Mustaine and Max Norman, released in 1992, and clocks in at a little over 47 minutes. It is the first Megadeth album which doesn't have their mascot, Vic Rattlehead, on the cover.

Dave Mustaine: vocals and guitars
Marty Friedman: guitars and backing vocals
Nick Menza: drums and backing vocals
David Ellefson: bass guitars and backing vocals

1. Skin O' My Teeth
2. Symphony of Destruction
3. Architecture of Agression
4. Foreclosure of a Dream
5. Sweating Bullets
6. This Was My Life
7. Countdown to Extinction
8. High Speed Dirt
9. Psychotron
10. Captive Honour
11. Ashes in Your Mouth