display | more...
One of Oingo Boingo's best albums. Recorded at Sunset Sound in California and released in 1990 by MCA, this rock album is forty-seven minutes and thirty-two kickass seconds long. They pulled all the stops for this one. And they also excelled on the level of their lyrics from any other album. Granted, there was Only A Lad which has some amazing poetry, but personally I think the best Elfman poetry ever was Skin. At least I think he wrote that one..?

For all intents and purposes, this was Oingo Boingo's swan song. Everything else after this was basically best of compilations and rehashes of their earlier works. It was around this time that Danny Elfman began to find stride in his second career as a composer for television shows and movies, and the band soon broke up.

  1. When The Lights Go Out
  2. Skin
  3. Out Of Control
  4. Glory Be
  5. Long Breakdown
  6. Flesh 'N Blood
  7. Run Away (The Escape Song)
  8. Dream Somehow
  9. Is This Elfman
  10. Right To Know
  11. Try To Believe
For this album, Oingo Boingo's band consisted of the following performers.
  • John Avila : Bass, Vocals
  • Steve Bartek : Guitar, Vocals
  • Danny Elfman : Guitar, Vocals
  • Bruce Fowler : Trombone
  • Carl Graves : Keyboards, Vocals
  • Ralph Grierson : Piano
  • Johnny Hernandez : Drums, Percussion
  • Kenneth Kotwitz : Accordion
  • Brian Mann : Accordion
  • Yvonne S. Moriarty : French Horn, Horn
  • Sam Phipps : Soprano Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone
  • Leon Schneiderman : Baritone Saxophone
  • Julia Tillman Waters : Vocals
  • Dale Turner : Trombone, Trumpet
  • Julia Waters : Vocals
  • Maxine Waters : Vocals
  • Maxine Willard Waters : Vocals