display | more...
The NWFL was formed in August 2000 with just two teams - the Nashville Dream and the Alabama Renegades. A pre-season showcase of six games ran from October 14 to December 2, but the NWFL's official season is from April to June so it doesn't interfere with high school, college, or pro football. The inaugural 2001 season saw ten teams in two divisions, and the NWFL became the first professional women's football league to complete a scheduled season including a championship match.

2002 Teams
Alabama Renegades
Atlanta Leopards
Asheville Assault
Baltimore Burn
Biloxi Hurricanes
Chattanooga Locomotion
Cleveland Fusion
Connecticut Crush
DC Divas
Detroit Danger
Knoxville Summit
Maine Freeze
Mass Mutiny
Mobile Sea Pirettes
Nashville Dream
New Orleans Spice
Panama City Beach Rumble
Pensacola Power
Philadelphia Liberty Belles
South Bend Golden Hawks
Southwest Michigan Jaguars
Tennessee Venom

Official site: http://www.nwflcentral.com/