display | more...

Title of an album by Captain Beefheart, 1972 (Warner-Reprise MS 2115); produced by Ted Templeman, all selections were written by Don Van Vliet (Captain Beefheart).

The novelty of its packaging was attractive, and foreshadowed the novelty of its songs: rather than the standard cardboard sleeve, the 12" phonograph record and a printed "cover" card were in a clear plastic envelope with "Clear Spot" embossed on the flap.

Side I

  1. Low Yo Yo Stuff
  2. Nowadays a Woman's gotta hit a man
  3. Too Much Time
  4. Circumstances
  5. My Head Is My Only House Unless It Rains
  6. Sun Zoom Spark

Side II
  1. Clear Spot
  2. Crazy Little Thing
  3. Long Neck Bottles
  4. Her Eyes Are A Blue Million Miles
  5. Big Eyed Beans From Venus
  6. Golden Birdies

While earlier Beefheart ranged from the rock-and-blues of Safe As Milk to noise collages akin to Cage or Stockhausen, this record was different: not really rock or "experimental", it was more like poetry with music, with some very pretty (and produced-sounding) songs that other performers could cover.