display | more...

South Glamorgan was one of the new Welsh administrative counties that came into being in 1974 as a result of the Local Government Act 1972 when the old county of Glamorganshire was divided into three new administrative counties of South, West and Mid Glamorgan.

South Glamorgan survived for twelve years until its abolition in 1996 when it was divided into the new unitary authorities of Cardiff and The Vale of Glamorgan. It still survives as one of the Preserved Counties of Wales.

Table of References

  • http://www.gazetteer-wales.co.uk/admin.htm
  • http://www.gazetteer-wales.co.uk/counties.htm

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.