The Japanese government's ban on Christianity involved closing its trade with most nations.
This national seclusion, or sakoku, was effected with five orders by the Tokugawa shogunate between the years of 1633 and 1639.
China, Korea, and the Netherlands were the only nations exempt from Japan's ban on international trade.
During sakoku, all international trade passed through Dejima, an island port of Nagasaki.

Sakoku continued until 1853, when
Matthew C. Perry
forced the opening of Japan.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.