A Canadian award for the best English-language work of fiction published in Canada. It was established in 1994 by executive Jack Rabinovitch in memory of his late wife, Doris Giller. The annual prize is $25,000 and the winner is selected by a jury of fellow Canadian authors.

Doris Giller was the founding Editor of the Montreal Gazette's Books section, and later, the Assistant Book Editor at the Toronto Star.

(Source: www.thegillerprize.org)

Winners of the Giller Prize:

1994: M. G. Vassanji, The Book of Secrets
1995: Rohinton Mistry, A Fine Balance
1996: Margaret Atwood, Alias Grace
1997: Mordecai Richler, Barney's Version
1998: Alice Munro, The Love of a Good Woman
1999: Bonnie Burnard, A Good House
2000: Michael Ondaatje, Anil's Ghost, AND
         David Adams Richards, Mercy Among the Children (shared)

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.