The full name of the school attended by Harry Potter and his friends. More commonly known as Hogwarts for short, the school was founded "over a thousand years ago" by four of the most powerful wizards and witches of their time: Godric Gryffindor, Helga Hufflepuff, Rowena Ravenclaw, and Salazar Slytherin. These four also founded Hogwarts' four houses, which bear their names. The Headmaster at Hogwarts is Professor Albus Dumbledore, who was also Professor of Transfiguration at the school before becoming Headmaster.

Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry is one of the most prestigious schools of magic in the world. The main (and only) sport played at Hogwarts is Quidditch. The school itself is a large, and very old, castle, remotely located far from Muggle civilization. To get to Hogwarts, most students take the Hogwarts Express from Platform Nine and Three-Quarters at King's Cross Station.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.