Police drama series which debuted on ABC in 1993. It aired for 12 seasons, ending in 2005. It has starred, among others, Dennis Franz as Detective Andy Sipowicz, Rick Schroder as Detective Danny Sorenson, David Caruso as Detective John Kelly, Jimmy Smits as Detective Bobby Simone, James McDaniel as Lieutenant Arthur Fancy, Gordon Clapp as Detective Gregory Medavoy, Kim Delaney as Detective Diane Russell, Nicholas Turturro as Detective James Martinez, Sharon Lawrence as Sylvia Costas, and Gail O'Grady as Donna Abandando.

The show got a lot of early controversy because the language was coarser than was usual for prime time TV, and because people's butts got shown sometimes. Some ABC network affiliates refused to air the program, but it was widely considered one of the best shows on TV.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.