display | more...

Orange Blossom Special is an album by Johnny Cash, originally released by Columbia Records in 1964. The album is amazing in its diversity, contrasting definative Cash tracks like The Long Black Veil with three Bob Dylan covers, including It Ain't Me Babe. At the time of Orange Blossom Special's release, country music was still preoccupied with singing about the Wild West. Cash kept one foot in the genre (You Wild Colorado), but songs about social justice (The Wall, All of God's Children Ain't Free), indicated a strong departure from the mainstream. This album both solidified Cash's stance as an activist for prison reform and Native American rights, and emphasized what his fans were already coming to know: this was not your typical country music.

  1. Orange Blossom Special
  2. The Long Black Veil
  3. It Ain't Me Babe
  4. The Wall
  5. Don't Think Twice, It's Alright
  6. You Wild Colorado
  7. Mama, You Been On My Mind
  8. When It's Springtime In Alaska (It's Forty Below)
  9. All Of God's Children Ain't Free
  10. Danny Boy
  11. Wildwood Flower
  12. Amen

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.