display | more...
Version of rugby mostly played in the north of England, Australia and parts of France.
Until recently, rugby league was the professional version of rugby and rugby union was for amateurs. Rugby union players can now be payed for playing.
The main differences between the sports are that league has 13 players and union has 15 and there are more scrums and stoppages in union.
A World Cup is played every four years which Australia usually wins.
A World Club Championship is played every year between the winners of the British and Australian Rugby Leagues - this year (2001) it was won by St Helens of England.
Attempts have been made to expand rugby league's base outside its current heartlands, without much success so far altho the recent World Cup featured teams from Russia, the United States, Canada and Japan.
For many years, commentary in England was partly provided by the likeable Eddie Waring, a favourite of impressionists in the 1970s and also a presenter on It's A Knockout.

The teams in the British Super League are:
Wigan Warriors
St Helens
Leeds Rhinos
Bradford Bulls
London Broncos
Halifax Blue Sox
Wakefield Trinity Wildcats
Salford Reds
Warrington Wolves
Castleford Tigers

In the Australian National Rugby League:
Brisbane Broncos
Canberra Raiders
St George Illawarra Dragons
Penrith Panthers
Melbourne Storm
Newcastle Knights
Northern Eagles
North Queensland Cowboys
Sydney Roosters
Wests Tigers
Auckland Warriors
Parramatta Eels

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.