The collective name for Wiccan solar celebrations. It is now common for Wiccan groups to celebrate eight Sabbats a year. The four lessor sabbats are the Quarters of the year: Summer Solstice, Winter Solstice AKA Yule, the Vernal Equinox and the Autumnal Equinox. The four greater sabbats occur roughly half-way between these and are called the Cross Quarters: Samhain AKA Halloween, Bridget, Beltane AKA May Day and Lughnasad. The Wiccan year begins with Samhain.

The Wiccan lunar celebrations are called Esbats usually marking the Full Moon.

Sab"bat (?), n. [See Sabbath.]

In mediaeval demonology, the nocturnal assembly in which demons and sorcerers were thought to celebrate their orgies.


© Webster 1913.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.