A range of mountains in southeastern New South Wales, and extending into northern Victoria.

Home to the ski fields of Australia, it contains the snowfields of Perisher Valley, Jindabyne, Guthega, Blue Cow, Mt. Buller and Charolette's Pass.

Kosciusko National Park, which covers around 6900 square kilometres, is situated in the centre of the Snowy Mountains area and contains Mt. Kosciusko, the tallest peak in Australia at 2.2 kilometres.

The Snowy Mountains are a popular holiday destination for people during both winter and the off-season. Bushwalking and mountain-climbing are common activities in this area.

It is also the site of the Snowy Mountains Hydro-electric Scheme.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.