The Somerset Maugham Award was created and endowed in 1947 by W. Somerset Maugham to enable British authors under the age of thirty-five to enrich their writing through foreign travel. It is granted in respect of a published work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry but excluding dramatic works, and the annual £12,000 prize fund is administered by the Society of Authors. Since 1964 it has been the practice to make multiple awards each year.

The most famous recipient was Kingsley Amis whose Lucky Jim published in 1954, won despite his well known aversion for foreign travel and the fact that Maugham disliked the book and believed Amis to be "scum".

Winners of the Somerset Maugham Award


Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.