St. Croix is one of the U.S. Virgin Islands. It is the largest of the three, at about 28 miles long and up to 7 miles wide, totalling 82 square miles. Its eastern end qualifies as the easternmost part of the US. It is not as mountainous as St. John and St. Thomas, and has lots of fields used for agriculture and rolling, wooded hills.

Columbus landed here in 1493. The Danish purchased this island in 1733 from the French, uniting all three of today's US Virgin Islands under Danish rule. Today, it's part of a US territory.

Today, St. Croix has two main towns, Christiansted (originally the capital of the whole Danish colony) and Frederiksted.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.