display | more...

The tetrarchy is a "four person rule." Originally created by Emperor Diocletian, the hierarchy worked as follows: There were two Augusti: Diocletian, and Maximian. The Augusti were the more powerful of the four. Then there were the two Caesars: Constantinus, and Galerius. Each Emperor was alloted a certain portion of land to govern.

Tet"rarch*y (?), n.; pl. Tetrarchies (#). [L. tetrarchia, Gr. : cf. F. t'etrarchie.] Rom. Antiq.

The district under a Roman tetrarch; the office or jurisdiction of a tetrarch; a tetrarchate.


© Webster 1913.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.