Compiled early in the 4th century it is an annalisitic work of history up to the year 225 AD, by one Eusebius, known as Eusebius Pamphilii bishop of Caesarea.

It consists of two parts, the Chronography and the Canons.

The Chronography is an attempt at an universal history and is divided into five sections

  • (1) Chaldean and Assyrian history
  • (2) Hebrew history
  • (3) Egyptian history
  • (4) Greek history
  • (5) Roman history
  • The Canons (also known as the Chronological Canons) are a series of chronological tables with short historical notices, alongside of which were placed the regnal years of the various rulers of different kingdoms.

    Its importance as a work is that it preserved a great deal of information about the development of early Christianity as well as pre-Christian material such as the Babylonian versions of the Creation and Flood myths.

    The original Greek work has been lost, but both parts are preserved in an Armenian version, which has helped identify the considerable extracts quoted by later writers. The Canons were preserved in Jerome's translation and extension entitled the Chronici Canones.

    Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.