The Cortez was the legislative body of the Spanish government, which contained representatives of the liberals, socialists, communists, and republican groups. The Cortez elected in 1931 began work on a Constitution that was finished in December of that year. They were responsible for overthrowing the monarchy and installing the first and only President of the republic- President Alcala. The Cortez, under the Constitution, was elected every four years and was responsible for checking the President's power and controlling the military. In February of 1936 President Alcala dissolved the Cortez and called for an election that led to the Spanish Civil War, and the emergence of Fransisco Franco.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.