The U.S. Coast Guard is a division of the United States Armed Forces and is normally under the authority of the Department of Transportation. During war, the Coast Guard is part of the U.S. Navy and thus under the Department of Defense.

The Coast Guard has many peacetime duties including:

  • Bridge Administration
  • International Ice Patrol
  • Law Enforcement
  • Drug Interdiction
  • Publication of Navigational Aids
  • Recreational Boating Safety
  • Licensing
  • Search and Rescue
  • Pollution Control

During war the Coast Guard's prime duties are the protection of American shores against attack and support of the U.S. Navy.

As of May 30, 1996 the Coast Guard is divided into nine regional districts. The headquarters of these districts are:

Related Information:

Official Coast Guard Anthem
The Bill that Created the Modern Coast Guard
Cutters, Aircraft, and Boats of the U.S. Coast Guard

From the U.S. Coast Guard official site:

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.