Typical state university. It is composed of three institutions: the University of Tennessee with it's flagship campus in Knoxville which includes the University of Tennessee Space Institute in Tullahoma and the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis. There are also campuses in Martin and Chattanooga.

According to the web page, "It was founded in 1794 and designated as the state land-grant institution in 1869." It has about 5,000 faculty, 26,000 enrollment (as of the 1999-2000 school year), gets about $75 million a year in annual research funding, and about $6 million a year in scholarship funds.

Oh yeah, and we have a football team: the Tennessee Volunteers.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.