The Monks of Doom formed in 1986 while the members of the band were still the rhythm section for the band Camper Van Beethoven. At its inception, the band consisted of Victor Krummenacher on Bass and Vocals, Chris Pedersen on Drums, Greg Lisher on Guitar and Chris Molla on Guitar and Vocals.

By the end of 1986, following a fall Camper Van Beethoven tour opening for REM, Chris Molla was expelled from Camper, and subsequently failed to show up for Monks' engagements and so was replaced in that band by David Immergluck.
By the time the first Monks record came out, David was a full time member. This line-up remained consistent until the band's demise in 1993.

With the demise of Camper Van Beethoven in 1990, the Monks were free to do more extensive tours around the United States, which they did until they finally broke up in 1993.


Soundtrack to the Film "Breakfast on the Beach of Deception" 1987
The Cosmodemonic Telegraph Company 1989
Meridian 1991
The Insect God 1992
Forgery 1992