Most often referred to as the NLCS, this is currently the second round of playoffs for National League baseball. The winners of the two NLDS meet here for a best-of-seven series to determine who goes to the World Series.

The NLCS was first played in 1969. From that year until 1993, the NLCS hosted the teams with the best regular-season records in each of the two divisions, with the exception of 1981 when two NLDS were held. In 1994, there was no postseason as a result of a labor dispute. Beginning in 1995, the National League reorganized into three divisions, and since that year the winners of the NLDS have met in the NLCS.