display | more...
Trophy for which service academies Army, Navy, and Air Force compete annually in American college football.

The three teams play each other once. Whichever team wins both of its games wins the trophy. If all three teams go 1-1, the trophy is retained by the academy that won it the previous year.

Since its inception in 1972, Air Force has won the trophy outright 14 times; Army 6 times; Navy 5 times (all through 2000). Additionally, the three teams all ended up tied at 1-1 in 4 seasons (with Navy retaining it 3 times and Air Force once).

The President of the United States is also commander in chief of the armed forces, giving the trophy its name.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.