the capital city of the country of India. Situated on the banks of river Yamuna and adjoining Delhi.

The excavations with the Old Fort in New Delhi reveal presence of inhibitants in the city over 3000 years ago. Between 13th and 17th century, there were 7 different cities established on this land at different points of time by different rulers.
The New Delhi was built in 1911 which was planned by Lutyens and Baker. The seven transitions of Delhi include cities with names of Lal Kot/Qila Rai Pithora, Siri, Tughlaqabad, Jahanpanah, Firoz Shah Kotla, Purana Qila and Shahjahanabad.

The city hosts the Qutab Minar (the towering mineret), the Red Fort, (where the national flag was hoisted on India's attaining independence from Britain on 15th August, 1947 and is being repeated every year there after), the Jama Masjid (India's largest mosque), the Chandni Chowk (one of the largest trading centres in northern India), the India Gate (a World War I memorial), and the Parliament House of India.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.