The San Francisco 49ers are a professional American football team based in San Francisco, California, and are one of the most storied franchises in the National Football League. From 1981 to 1994, under the leadership of superstar quarterbacks Joe Montana and Steve Young, aided by the likes of running back Roger Craig, safety Ronnie Lott, and the greatest wide receiver of all time, Jerry Rice, and guided by coach Bill Walsh and his revolutionary "West Coast Offense," the "Niners" won five Super Bowl championships in just 14 seasons.

Established in 1946 as one of the charter member of the All-America Football Conference (AAFC) the Niners joined the NFL when the two leagues merged in 1950. The Niners were the first "Big Four" professional sports franchise on the West Coast. Since 1971, the team has made its home in historic Candlestick Park, but in 2014 they will begin playing home games in the newly constructed (and purpose-built) Santa Clara Stadium in nearby Santa Clara, California.

By the Numbers


Super Bowl Championships: 5 (1981, 1984, 1988, 1989, 1994)
NFC Conference Championships: 5
NFC West Division Championships: 18
Playoff Appearances: 24

NFL Most Valuable Player Awards (5):

John Brodie, 1970
Joe Montana, 1989
Joe Montana, 1990
Steve Young, 1992
Steve Young, 1994

NFL Offensive Player of the Year Awards (5):

Jerry Rice, 1987
Roger Craig, 1988
Joe Montana, 1989
Steve Young, 1992
Jerry Rice, 1993

NFL Defensive Player of the Year Awards (2):

Deion Sanders, 1994
Dana Stubblefield, 1997

NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Awards (3):

Bruce Taylor, 1970
Dana Stubblefield, 1993
Patrick Willis, 2007

NFL Coach of the Year Awards (2):

Bill Walsh, 1981
Jim Harbaugh, 2011

Super Bowl MVP Awards (5):

Joe Montana,1981
Joe Montana, 1984
Jerry Rice, 1988
Joe Montana, 1989
Steve Young, 1994

Retired Numbers

8 Steve Young, QB
12 John Brodie, QB
16 Joe Montana, QB
34 Joe Perry, FB
37 Jimmy Johnson, CB
39 Hugh McElhenny, RB
42 Ronnie Lott, S
70 Charlie Krueger, DL
73 Leo Nomellini, DT
79 Bob St. Clair, OT
80 Jerry Rice, WR
87 Dwight Clark, WR
Edward J. DeBartolo Jr., Owner
– Bill Walsh, Head Coach

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.