display | more...
Postumously released album by Morphine (February 1, 2000):


  1. The Night
  2. So Many Ways
  3. Souvenir
  4. Top Floor, Bottom Buzzer
  5. Like A Mirror
  6. A Good Woman Is Hard To Find
  7. Rope On Fire
  8. I'm Yours, You're Mine
  9. The Way We Met
  10. Slow Numbers
  11. Take Me With You

Mark Sandman - lead vocal, 2-string slide bass, bass guitar, piano, organ, acoustic guitar, trombone, tri-tar
Dana Colley - baritone sax, tenor sax, bass sax, double sax, backup vocal, horse-hair piano
Billy Conway - drums, percussion, back-up vocals

Jerome Deupree - drums on all tracks except 9
Jane Scarpantoni - cello on tracks 1, 7, 11
Mike Rivard - upright and bowed bass on tracks 7, 11
Joseph Kessler - viola on tracks 7, 11
Brahim Fribgane - oud and frame drum on track 7
Billy Beard - hand drum on track 7
John Medeski - organ on tracks 4, 8
Margaret Garrett and Tara McManus - back-up vocals on track 5
Linda Viens and Carolyn Kaylor - back-up vocals on tracks 2, 4
Ramona Clifton - back-up vocals on track 4

The first time I heard this album (posthumously released only in the case of Mark Sandman: Dana Colley and Billy Conway continue with Laurie Sargeant as The Twinemen), I couldn't contain my excitement. Sandman had been dead for a good part of a year, and for a very long time the album's existence was merely a rumor, some vague record collector fantasy whose master tapes where located somewhere on the map in a region marked "Here there be dragons."

I rushed home from Newbury Comics, rushed up the stairs to my apartment, and tore off the plastic wrapping with a practiced motion. With a measured amount of reverence, I placed the CD in the player and watched as it disappeared into the depths of that most holy of temples.

I studied the photo of the night blooming cereus on the cover while listening to the first few notes wash over me, and was utterly depressed after about thirty seconds.

It's hard to explain why to someone who hasn't revered Morphine as one of their musical heroes ever since the band grew out of Treat Her Right, but it basically boils down to this: The Night is easily Morphine's most musically mature work and there will never be another album to follow it up.

This probably isn't my favorite Morphine album (that place in my heart is reserved for the other four), but it's definitely their best, their most intricate, their most textured, their most heartfelt. For long time fans, this is a nugget, the last bit of genius Sandman could give us before passing on. For newcomers to the scene, this is the culmination of a legacy. Savor this one, boys and girls. There won't be another like it for a long time.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.