display | more...

An album released in 2001 by a rather good Swedish band known as The Hives. This album is halfway between being a greatest hits and merely a compilation - all the tracks on this CD are from their previous albums and singles.

Although all the songs are of a nice high quality (sounding somewhat like a more heavy guitar-based Millencolin), it is disappointing that there is no new material on this album. The only incentive for the dedicated Hives fan to buy this is for the sake of completeness. Then again, the songs link together far more effectively than on previous releases, as each has a very similar sound. If you like your albums to flow, and have not already bought one of their albums, then this would make a good choice.

And now, the track listing:

  1. Hate To Say I Told You So 1
  2. Main Offender 1
  3. Supply and Demand 1
  4. Die, All Right! 1
  5. Untutored Youth 2
  6. Outsmarted 2
  7. Mad Man 2
  8. Here We Go Again 3
  9. a.k.a. I-D-I-O-T 3
  10. Automatic Schmuck 3
  11. Hail Hail Spit n' Drool 3
  12. The Hives Are Law, You Are Crime 4

1: Taken from "Veni Vidi Vicious" album
2: Taken from the "a.k.a I-D-I-O-T" single
3: Taken fron "Barely Legal" album
4: Taken from the "Hate to Say I Told You So" single

The CD also contains, in handy-dandy MPEG format, videos for Main Offender, Hate To Say I Told You So, a.k.a. I-D-I-O-T and Die, All Right!, which appear to play in most PCs I've come across (the cover says nothing about whether it'll work on a Mac, can anyone vouch for this?). It can be picked up quite cheaply, costing a whopping £6.99 from Our Price in the UK.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.