Davidson County, Tennessee has been incorporated as the Metropolitain Area of Nashville, the state capital. When this county was fully incorporated (many years ago) there were a few small holdouts within the county line that maintained differing amounts of independence.

  • Antioch & Hermitage retained the right use a separate postal address.
  • Barry Hill maintains its own police force and collects a small amount of tax for this purpose.
  • Oak Hill is somehow independent, but no one knows how or why...
  • Joelton remains unincorporated.