display | more...

International Whaling Commision

The organization of countries dedicated to regulate the whaling industry. Formed in 1949 as a result of the International Convention for the Regulation of Whaling to properly conserve whale stocks and make way for a orderly development of the industry. Began a moratorium on whaling in general in 1985/86, which is still in effect.

43 member countries. Norway and Japan makes up the pro-whaling block in IWC (in addition, Iceland will join as a voting member after a year of observer status). The rest of the countries more or less follows a conservational stand.