County in mid-Wales, UK (also referred to as Breconshire). Bordered by Glamorganshire to the south-west, Monmouthshire to the south-east, Carmarthenshire to the west, Herefordshire to the east, Cardiganshire to the north-west and Radnorshire to the north.

The county is home to the Brecon Beacons National Park.

Princial towns include the county town Brecon, Builth Wells, Brynmawr and Crickhowell.

From the Welsh Brycheiniog, one of the medieval kingdoms of Wales. Named after Bychan Brycheiniog (born 419), the Irish chieftain who traditionally established a kingdom there sometime in the 5th century.

Brecknock (pronounced phonetically) was the nearest the English could get to pronouncing Brycheiniog. Later shortened to Brecon when it became fashionable amongst the English not to pronounce consonants. (In the same way that, for example Brighthelmstone became Brighton)

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.